English | Deutsch

An production

13 - 17 April 2017

Edad de Oro (Golden Age)

During the Trasnochando days & nights of tango, our DJs will pay particular hommage to a period in tango history known as the Edad de Oro (lit. "Golden Age"). This period, which largely corresponds to the decade of the 1940s, represents the culmination in both quantity and quality of a musical development known as the Guardia Nueva.

Both dancers and musicians began to acquire strongly identified individual styles, and having been diffused around the world during the previous decade of the 1930s, tango acquired near universal fame with the help of the recent inventions of radio and film with synchronized sound.

In Buenos Aires, the 1940s were the time of large orchestras, of huge popular tango balls with live orchestras, and of large distribution through radio, gramophone records and cinema. Tango represented the principal music and dance of an entire generation. It could be heard and danced every night in literally hundreds of cafés, cabarets, confiterías, clubs, unions, salons and carnivals. The hub of all this tango activity was avenida Corrientes.

Among all the musicians of the era, Aníbal Troilo (Pichuco) is the most representative of the Edad de Oro. Many discussions in subsequent decades have pondered why he in particular should occupy such a central place in this most illustrious time of tango, amongst thousands of other musicians active at the time. Piazzolla, who knew him profoundly, considered him a "giant of intuition", with a sensitivity capable of "reducing tango to its purest and richest essence".

Of course many other orchestras, famous till this day, achieved prominence during the golden age (Di Sarli, Laurenz, Caló, D'Agostino, Tanturi, ...)

Juan D'Arienzo (and his pianist Rodolfo Biagi) in particular re-popularized the "beat" (compás), producing a faster and more lively tango perfectly suited to dancing. His recordings of "La Cumparsita" and "La Puñalada" sold in the millions throughout the world. He is credited with propelling an entire generation to its feet.

Osvaldo Pugliese's orchestra, with hits such as "La Yumba", shined with its innovative use of percussion, foreshadowing the coming Vanguardia period. Pugliese also collaborated with immortal singers such as Roberto Chanel, Alberto Morán, Jorge Vidal, Jorge Maciel and Miguel Montero.

The rich diversity of sound and dancing that characterize the Edad de Oro continue to enchant to this day. At Trasnochando, our artists and organizers will strive to reawaken the excitement of this fascinating time!

Source (in Spanish): wikipedia

Tell us what you think

English | Deutsch

An production


29 March - 2 April 2018

Edad de Oro (Goldene Ära)

Während der "Trasnochando days & nights of tango" werden unsere DJs der Periode der Edad de Oro besondere Ehre erweisen (lit. "Goldene Ära"). Diese Periode, die mehr oder weniger den 1940ern entspricht, repräsentiert den Höhepunkt in Qualität und Quantität der musikalischen Entwicklung des Tangos und ist als Guardia Nueva bekannt.

Tänzer wie Musiker begannen, sehr verschiedene individuelle Stile zu entwickeln. Nach seiner weltweiten Verbreitung in den 1930ern, erwirbt der Tango, Dank der Erfindung von Radio und synchronisiertem Film, universellen Ruf.

In Buenos Aires waren die 1940er die Zeit der großen Orchester, großer, populärer Tangobälle mit diesen Orchestern und weiter Verbreitung der Tangomusik durch Radio, Grammofonplatten und Kinos. Tango repräsentierte die hauptsächliche Musik und den Tanz einer ganzen Generation. Jede Nacht konnte er in hunderten Cafés, Kaffeehäusern, Clubs, Vereinsräumen, Salons und Karnevalen gehört und getanzt werden. Die Drehscheibe all dieser Tangoaktivitäten war die Straße Avenida Corrientes.

Unter all den Musikern der Zeit war Aníbal Troilo (Pichuco) der representativste der Edad de Oro. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten gab es viele Diskussionen, warum gerade er einen solch zentralen Platz in dieser glänzenden Zeit des Tangos, unter tausenden Musikern dieser Zeit, einnehmen sollte. Piazzolla, der ihn sehr gut kannte, betrachtete ihn als "Gigant der Intuition" mit einer Empfindsamkeit, die es ihm ermöglichte, Tango auf seine reinste und reichste Essenz zu reduzieren.

Natürlich haben viele bis heute berühmte Orchester im goldenen Zeitalter Bedeutung erlangt. (Di Sarli, Laurenz, Caló, D'Agostino, Tanturi, ...)

Besonders Juan D'Arienzo (und Rodolfo Biagi) machten den “Rhythmus” (compás) wieder populär, indem sie einen schnelleren und lebendigeren, perfekt zum Tanzen geeigneten Tango kreierten. Seine Aufnahmen von "La Cumparsita" und "La Puñalada" wurden weltweit millionenfach verkauft. Ihm wird zugeschrieben, eine ganze Generation auf die Beine gebracht zu haben.

Osvaldo Puglieses Orchester, mit Hits wie "La Yumba", glänzt mit seinem innovativen Einsatz von Percussion, die die Vanguardia eriode vorausahnen lässt. Pugliese arbeitete mit unvergesslichen Sängern wie Roberto Chanel, Alberto Morán, Jorge Vidal, Jorge Maciel und Miguel Montero.

Die große Diversität von Klang und Tanz der Edad de Oro fasziniert bis heute. Bei Trasnochando werden die Künstler und Veranstalter alles geben, den Zauber dieser Zeit wiederzuerwecken!

Quelle (auf Spanisch): wikipedia

Sagen Sie uns, was Sie denken